Blog 6

This class has been helpful in discussing my own personal worldview in that it points out how knowledge has been communicated to me, and what is most helpful about this is it allows me to then identify which kinds of rhetoric I haven’t responded to, and have overlooked and excluded when forming my worldview. For example, in the Information-Argument section, I looked closely at the field of Music Scholarship, and found that musicians often overlook the opinion of the composer of music in favor of the opinions of commentators and historians. While to me personally I found this unfair, the realization could be applied to my own life: if my life could be understood as a work of art of my own creation, then I most often look to the opinions of others to determine who I am, who I should be, and how I will “create” myself. My personal worldview is often much more constructed by the views of those around me whom I respect, as opposed to constructions based on my own experience. However, my experience is closely tied to those around me, because I tend to surround myself with people whose experience is relatively similar to my own (for example, male college-aged students who own computers and cars and share my religious views). This in itself is another formative mechanism which heavily influences my worldview, but leaves massive gaps in experience, information, and therefore knowledge.

Leave a comment